Soy Sauce

Soy Sauce

Soy (Soya) sauce is almost always off limits on a gluten-free diet. It isn't the soya beans, it is the way soy sauce is made that is the problem. Read up on the details and watch our handy explainer video.

Soy (soya) sauce is one of the world’s oldest condiments and has been in use for many years and is generally considered off limits on the gluten-free diet.

Despite its name, almost all varieties of soy sauce contain wheat. More often than not, it is listed as the very first ingredient on the bottle. This makes dining in establishments that use soy sauce a risk for individuals with gluten sensitivities.

can get free viagra nhs side effects of using lipitor comune di agugliaro viagra normal usar viagra click here source site essay on integrity creative writing vassar enter site nursing admission essay allnurses essay about your mother tongue romanian free samples of viagra by mail watch brother best man speech click here business research methods bryman and bell go to site click watch essay on favorite game badminton essay on childhood obesity cause and effect see genuine viagra prices compare cialis with levitra case-only study definition how do i know viagra is real critical thinking for kids problem sovers essay professional online writing services Naturally brewed soy sauce is prepared by fermenting a mixture of mashed soybeans, salt, wheat and water. The wheat is primarily used in soy sauce in equal parts with the soybeans and is pulverized to give it taste and consistency.

Hydrolyzed soya sauce is made with defatted soy meal, the residue of soybean oil production. It is broken down (hydrolyzed) into amino acids and sugars with concentrated hydrochloric acid. This caustic mixture is then neutralized with alkaline sodium carbonate, and flavored and colored with corn syrup, caramel, water, and salt.

Currently there is not a reliable testing method to determine the amount of gluten remaining

Soy Sauce Controversy

It is controversial if the fermentation process breaks down all of the gluten protein in soy sauce.  Some small studies indicate it falls well below the 20ppm and is safe.  While some people with celiac disease report not being bothered by it, may others have a reaction when it is ingested.

Hydrolyzed soy sauce has not been adequately tested for gluten and should be avoided.

It is important to note that soy sauce that has not been labeled gluten-free will likely contain wheat content. Others may contain barley which still has gluten in it. In many non-brewed varieties, the inclusion of wheat has now been removed.

Soy Sauce is NOT Considered Safe for a Gluten Free Diet

Even if naturally brewed soya sauce tests below the 20ppm it is difficult to be certain which if the fermented version or the hydrolyzed version is used in a restaurant or hawker stand.

Until further testing is done and a clear labeling standard can be set for Singapore, soy sauce is considered a gluten containing food and is off limits on a gluten-free diet.

Gluten Free Substitute for Soy Sauce

While most commercial soy sauces contain wheat, there are some well-known brands that certify their products as gluten-free. Brand names like Kikkoman and San-J have a gluten-free version of soy sauce that offers the same rich, savory taste as their regular soy sauce. It is brewed with four basic ingredients including soybeans, water, salt and rice and replaces wheat content by using rice instead.

References   Is Soy Sauce Gluten Free?

Sign up for our Newsletter

#mc_embed_signup{background:#fff; clear:left; font:14px default; width:100%;} /* Add your own Mailchimp form style overrides in your site stylesheet or in this style block. We recommend moving this block and the preceding CSS link to the HEAD of your HTML file. */